Football Team Places 29 Players On Patriot League Academic Honor Roll

Reed Apfelbaum

WORCESTER, Mass. – Twenty-nine members of the Holy Cross football team have been selected to the 2012 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the conference office. Leading the Crusaders was senior tight end Reed Apfelbaum (Upper St. Clair, Pa.), who was named to the Academic Honor Roll for the fourth time during his collegiate career. Holy Cross' 29 total selections to the team were the second-most in the conference, behind only Fordham with 30.

Six Crusaders are making their third career appearance on the Academic Honor Roll, in senior offensive lineman Fred Hilow (Lakewood, Ohio), senior defensive back Tom Mannix (Kenilworth, N.J.), senior offensive lineman Sean Whited (Canton, Ohio), junior linebacker Pete Anastasio (Camp Hill, Pa.), junior defensive back Philip Gough (Hinsdale, Ill.) and junior  placekicker John Macomber (Vienna, Va.). Holy Cross players named to the team for the second time in their careers include senior placekicker Patrick Jarvis (Hopkinton, Mass.), senior tight end Alex Schneider (Inver Grove Heights, Minn.), junior offensive lineman Emanuel Mendoza (Bronx, N.Y.), junior wide receiver Jon Smith (Matawan, N.J.), sophomore defensive back Sam Jones (Canal Winchester, Ohio) and sophomore quarterback Michael Shewchuk (Chicago, Ill.).

The Crusaders had 16 other players selected to the Academic Honor Roll for the first time, in senior wide receiver Gerald Mistretta (Brooklyn, N.Y.), junior defensive lineman Jack Daly (Hopkinton, Mass.), junior wide receiver Mike Fess (Caldwell, N.J.), junior defensive lineman Mike Tucker (Chester Springs, Pa.), sophomore tight end Ted Deily (Harrisburg, Pa.), sophomore offensive lineman Cain Lamper (Muncy, Pa.), sophomore wide receiver Jereme Murray (State College, Pa.), sophomore quarterback Michael Reardon (Little Silver, N.J.), sophomore offensive lineman Ryan Schnieber (Cincinnati, Ohio), freshman defensive back Dabness Atkins (Long Beach, Calif.), freshman defensive back Matt Bhaya (Haddonfield, N.J.), freshman wide receiver Zach Buzzard (Scottsdale, Ariz.), freshman defensive back Coan Calabrese (Rockwall, Texas), freshman defensive lineman Jacob Gonzales (Austin, Texas), freshman defensive lineman Clint Jackman (Dublin, Calif.) and freshman defensive back Steven Martinez (Dallas, Texas).

A total of 169 student-athletes from football teams around the league earned spots on this year's Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a grade point average of 3.20 or better during the fall semester.

The Crusaders, who finished the 2012 season with an overall record of 2-9 and tied for third in the Patriot League with a 2-3 mark in conference games, are scheduled to open spring practice on Saturday, March 16.

For the complete Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in PDF format, click here.