Zitnik Named To CFPA Kickoff Returner Award Watch List

Andrew Zitnik

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross junior defensive back Andrew Zitnik (Warren, Ohio) has been selected to the 2012 College Football Performance Awards Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision Kickoff Returner Award. Zitnik was among 39 players from teams around the nation named to the list. 

Zitnik played in all 11 games for the Crusaders in 2011, averaging 22.5 yards on 19 kickoff returns. He finished the season ranked third in the Patriot League and 60th in the nation in kickoff return average. Zitnik also saw a good deal of action at cornerback last year, totaling 34 tackles, and interception and two pass breakups. Over the course of his collegiate career, he has now returned 31 kickoffs for 776 yards and one touchdown. Zitnik enters the 2012 campaign ranked third all-time at Holy Cross with his career average of 25.0 yards per kickoff return.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. For more information, visit www.collegefootballperformance.com.


2012 CFPA FCS Kickoff Returner Award Watch List

• Terrance Lewis, Alcorn State
• A.J. Cruz, Brown
• Mark Kachmer, Brown
• Tyler Smith, Bucknell
• Jesse Grandy, Central Arkansas
• Chaz Moore, Chattanooga
• Gary Hunter, Dayton
• Travis Hawkins, Delaware
• Travis Tarpley, Delaware State
• Brandon Kaufman, Eastern Washington
• Jeremy Moore, Georgetown
• Dominique Swope, Georgia Southern
• Darren McCray, Georgia State
• Albert Wilson, Georgia State
• Seitu Smith II, Harvard
Andrew Zitnik, Holy Cross
• Colby Walden, Jacksonville
• Kevin Fogg, Liberty
• Torrian Warren, North Carolina A&T
• Dontra Peters, New Hampshire
• Arthur Goforth, North Carolina Central
• Jamaal Perkins, Northern Arizona
• Carlos Anderson, Northern Iowa
• Colby Goodwyn, Old Dominion
• Fabian Truss, Samford
• Tim Flanders, Sam Houston State
• Richard Sincere, Sam Houston State
• Zach Zenner, South Dakota State
• Jordan Wells, Southeastern Louisiana
• Steve Strother, Southern Illinois
• Virgil Williams, Southern University
• Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin
• Miguel Maysonet, Stony Brook
• Kyle Harbridge, St. Francis (Pa.)
• Derrick Joseph, Towson
• Jamal Abdur-Rahman, Villanova
• Dominique Williams Wagner
• George Richardson, Western Carolina
• Chris Smith, Yale