Mistretta Named To CFPA Wide Receiver Award Watch List

Gerald Mistretta

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross senior wide receiver Gerald Mistretta (Brooklyn, N.Y.) has been selected to the 2012 College Football Performance Awards Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision Wide Receiver Award. Mistretta was among 39 players from teams around the nation named to the list. 

Mistretta earned first team All-Patriot League honors in 2011, after playing in all 11 games with five starts. He caught 60 passes on the year for 723 yards and six touchdowns, to lead the team in all three categories. Mistretta also rushed the ball four times for 16 yards, returned two kickoffs for 35 yards and made 13 tackles on special teams. He finished the year ranked third in the Patriot League in both receptions and receiving yards, while standing seventh in all-purpose yards. Over the course of his collegiate career, Mistretta has now totaled 94 receptions for 1,228 yards and 10 scores in 34 games played.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. For more information, visit www.collegefootballperformance.com.


2012 CFPA FCS Wide Receiver Award Watch List

• G'Alonzo Milton, Alabama A&M
• Devin Stark, Austin Peay
• Jordan Harris, Bryant
• Jesse Grandy, Central Arkansas
• Nathan Perera, Charleston Southern
• Kurt Ondash, Cornell
• Luke Tasker, Cornell
• Lanny Funsten, Davidson
• Nihja White, Delaware
• Chris Wright, Eastern Illinois
• Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington
• Greg Herd, Eastern Washington
• Aaron Mellette, Elon
• Albert Wilson, Georgia State
Gerald Mistretta, Holy Cross
• Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State
• Tyrone Walker, Illinois State
• Rico Richardson, Jackson State
• Alan Bonner, Jacksonville State
• Mark Ross, Lafayette
• Ryan Spadola, Lehigh
• Donte Sawyer, Morehead State
• R.J. Harris, New Hampshire
• Xavier Boyce, Norfolk State
• Ryan Smith, North Dakota State
• Jace Davis, Northern Colorado
• Dominic Gunn, Northern Colorado
• Larry Pinkard, Old Dominion
• Justin Monahan, Portland State
• Spencer Nelson, Prairie View A&M
• Kelsey Pope, Samford
• Richard Sincere, Sam Houston State
• Will Powell, South Dakota
• Aaron Rollin, South Dakota State
• Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin
• Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin
• Quentin Sims, UT-Martin
• Norman White, Villanova
• Shaydon Kehano, Weber State