Football Announces Team Awards For 2011 Season

Ryan Taggart

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross football team has announced its team awards for the 2011 season. The awards were presented at the team's annual banquet, held on Saturday, February 11, in the Hogan Campus Center.

Leading the award winners was senior quarterback Ryan Taggart (Bedford, Texas), who was named the 2011 Crusader Most Valuable Player. Taggart completed 268 of 430 passes for 2,948 yards and 17 touchdowns with only seven interceptions this season, in addition to carrying the ball 132 times for 496 yards and seven scores. A complete list of award recipients follows:

WTAG Offensive Player of the Year:
Ryan Taggart

WTAG Defensive Player of the Year:
Ricky Otis

WTAG Special Teams Player of the Year:
Chandler Fenner

Davitt Awards
(Presented annually to the top back and lineman on both offense and defense. They were instituted by Jim Davitt (Class of 1913) of Holyoke, Mass., in memory of his brother, Rev. William Davitt Class of 1907), who played football and ran track while at Holy Cross, and was the last United States officer to lose his life in World War I.)
Offensive Back: Gerald Mistretta
Offensive Lineman: Mike McCabe
Defensive Back: Ricky Otis
Defensive Lineman: Jack Maliska

The Connor Award
(Presented annually to the Holy Cross senior who, by a vote of the varsity squad, is named the person the players are most proud of as a teammate. It is given by the Holy Cross club of the Pioneer Valley.):
Mark Tolzien

The Unsung Hero Award
(Presented annually to the player who has supported the squad spiritually, emotionally and physically for the good of the team.):
Eric Oldiges, Sean Whited

The Rick Carter Memorial Award
(Presented to the senior whose sportsmanship and dedication to the game of football represent the highest ideals of athletics and who, through uncommon leadership, has positively influenced his teammates and brought great credit to his family, his team and the college.):
Chandler Fenner

2011 Crusader Most Valuable Player
(Presented to the person who his teammates feel was the most significant part of the team.):
Ryan Taggart