McCabe Named A Semifinalist For The William V. Campbell Trophy

Mike McCabe

DALLAS, Texas – Holy Cross senior offensive tackle Mike McCabe (Watertown, Conn.) has been selected as one of 127 semifinalists for the 2011 William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth (formerly known as the Draddy Trophy), as announced by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame. McCabe and the other 126 semifinalists also make up the candidates for the 2011 National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments. Each of the semifinalists is a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, with a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, outstanding football ability as a starter or significant contributor, and strong leadership and citizenship skills.

 "This year's candidates truly embody the National Football Foundation's mission of building leaders through football," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (1997 Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. "They are standouts in the classroom and on the field and have become leaders in their respective communities. Each school should take great pride in being represented by such well-rounded young men who will undoubtedly go on to do great things in life."

From the group of 127 semifinalists, the NFF awards committee will select and announce up to 16 finalists on Oct. 26. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2011 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner, who will have his scholarship increased to $25,000, will be announced live at the NFF's annual awards dinner on Dec. 6 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening.

McCabe has started all three of Holy Cross' games so far this season at left tackle, as the leader of an offensive line which has paved the way for the Crusaders to average 27.7 points and 381.3 total yards per game. A two-time All-Patriot League selection, he has played in 39 career games with 28 starts, including a current streak of 26 straight games started. In the classroom, McCabe owns a cumulative grade point average of 3.62 with a major in classics.

A list of semifinalists for the 2011 William V. Campbell Trophy follows.


Air Force - A.J. Wallerstein
Arizona State - Aaron Pflugrad
Army - Andrew Rodriguez
Auburn - Barrett Trotter
Ball State - Briggs Orsbon
Boise State - Nate Potter
Bowling Green State - Ben Bojicic
Brigham Young - Bryan Kariya
Buffalo - Peter Fardon
California - Giorgio Tavecchio
Clemson - Dawson Zimmerman
Colorado - Travis Sandersfeld
Connecticut - Harris Agbor
Georgia - Drew Butler
Indiana - Leon Beckum
Iowa - Tyler Nielsen
Kansas State - Tysyn Hartman
Kentucky - Stuart Hines
Miami (Fla.) - Spencer Whipple
Miami (Ohio) - Anthony Kokal
Michigan State - Kirk Cousins
Missouri - Grant Ressel
Navy - John Dowd
Nebraska - Austin Cassidy
North Carolina State - Mikel Overgaard
Northern Illinois - Chandler Harnish
Northwestern - Dan Persa
Notre Dame - David Ruffer
Oklahoma State - Brandon Weeden
Pittsburgh - Myles Caragein
Purdue - Joe Holland
Rutgers - Scott Vallone
San Diego State - Miles Burris
South Florida - Chaz Hine
Southern Mississippi - Austin Davis
Syracuse - Kevyn Scott
Texas - Emmanuel Acho
Texas A&M - Ryan Tannehill
Toledo - Mike VanDerMeulen
Troy - Jamie Hampton
Virginia - Robert Randolph
Virginia Tech - Danny Coale
Wake Forest - Michael Hoag
Washington State - Jared Karstetter
Western Michigan - John Potter
Wisconsin - Bradie Ewing
Wyoming - Clayton Kirven

Albany - Herb Glass
Arkansas-Pine Bluff - Christopher Wilson
Austin Peay State - Nick Newsome
Brown - Kyle Newhall-Caballero
Bucknell - Tim Bolte
Columbia - Bob Hauschildt
Dartmouth - Luke Hussey
Dayton - Devon Langhorst
Delaware - Rob McDowell
Drake - Michael Lahart
Eastern Illinois - Cory Leman
Eastern Kentucky - Emory Attig
Elon - A.J. Harris
Georgia State - Kalan Jenkins
Holy Cross - Mike McCabe
Illinois State - Eric Brunner
McNeese State - Ben Bourgeois
Montana - Alex Shaw
North Dakota - Catlin Solum
North Dakota State - Matt Veldman
Northern Arizona - Ben Bachelier
Northern Iowa - Ben Boothby
Northwestern State - Yaser Elqutub
Old Dominion - Ronnie Cameron
Rhode Island - Matt Rae
Sam Houston State - Travis Watson
Samford - Joe Collins
South Dakota - Chris Ganious
South Dakota State - Brad Iverson
Stephen F. Austin - Drew Nelson
Valparaiso - Bobby Wysocki
Yale - Patrick Witt
Youngstown State - Andrew Johnson

Clark Atlanta (Ga.) - Aramide Adefemiwa
Colorado School of Mines - Clay Garcia
Colorado State-Pueblo - Lee Meisner
Delta State (Miss.) - Micah Davis
Ferris State (Mich.) - Tom Schneider
Harding (Ark.) - Luke Tribble
Newberry (S.C.) - Lequawn James
St. Cloud State (Minn.) - Matt Theis
Virginia State - William Rudd
Wayne State (Mich.) - Josh Renel
Wingate (N.C.) - Cody Haffly

Albion (Mich.) - John Lesinski
Augustana (Ill.) - David Lee
Bluffton (Ohio) - Russell Krouse
Case Western Reserve (Ohio) - Richard Doolin
Central (Iowa) - Jeremy Snead
Chicago (Ill.) - Danny Polaneczky
Cornell (Iowa) - Erik Krol
Dubuque (Iowa) - Michael Zweifel
Gallaudet (D.C.) - Caleb Hinton
Grinnell (Iowa) - Chris Jarmon
Hamline (Minn.) - Joshua Bain
Hampden-Sydney (Va.) - Ben Rogers
Macalester (Minn.) - Will Dhonau
Massachusetts Inst. of Tech. - Tyler Wagner
Mississippi College - Jeremy Bertrand
Moravian (Pa.) - Allen Petros
Norwich (Vt.) - Long Ding
Redlands (Calif.) - Tyler Aubrey
Rowan (N.J.) - Eric Sharkey
St. John's (Minn.) - Andrew Rotschafer
St. Thomas (Minn.) - Dan Chapman
Trinity (Conn.) - Herman Brito
U.S. Coast Guard Academy (Conn.) - Ryan Webster
Washington & Jefferson (Pa.) - Gary Flavion
Washington Univ. in St. Louis (Mo.) - Kyle Larkin
Westminster (Pa.) - Shawn Lehocky
Williams (Mass.) - Ben Halbower
Wisconsin-Eau Claire - David Goodman
Wisconsin-Oshkosh - Justin Budiac
Wisconsin-Whitewater - Jared Kiesow

Baker (Kan.) - John Babb
Cumberland (Tenn.) - Ben Miller
Cumberlands (Ky.) - Jay Bright
Morningside (Iowa) - Matt Muschall
Saint Xavier (Ill.) - Michael Prosser
South Dakota School of Mines - Andy Smith