Fess & Zitnik Named To CFPA Kickoff Returner Award Watch List

Mike Fess


WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross sophomore wide receiver Mike Fess (Caldwell, N.J.) and sophomore defensive back Andrew Zitnik (Warren, Ohio) have been selected to the 2011 College Football Performance Awards Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision Kickoff Returner Award. Fess and Zitnik were among 41 players from teams around the nation named to the list. Holy Cross was one of only four schools to have more than one player selected to the list.

Fess brought back four kickoffs for 133 yards and a score last year, for an average of 33.2 yards per return. During the Bucknell game, he had a 75-yard kickoff return for a touchdown. Fess also caught nine passes for 106 yards during the 2010 season, while rushing twice for seven yards and making three tackles on special teams.

Zitnik returned 12 kickoffs for 349 yards and a touchdown last season, averaging 29.1 yards per return. He placed second on the Holy Cross single-season record list with his average of 29.1 yards per kickoff return, while his 93-yard return at Colgate was the fifth-longest in school history. In addition, Zitnik made three tackles on special teams during the 2010 campaign, and carried twice for 10 yards as a running back.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. For more information, visit www.collegefootballperformance.com.


2011 CFPA FCS Kickoff Returner Award Watch List


Quendarius Mckibbons, Alabama State
Mark Kachmer, Brown
Tyler Smith, Bucknell
Mark Rodgers, Cal Poly
Keith Gamble, Citadel
Noah Jackson, Colgate
Shawn Abuhoff, Dartmouth
Gary Hunter, Dayton
Ryan Ho, Duquesne
Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky
Jeremy Moore, Georgetown
Laron Scott, Georgia Southern
Darren McCray, Georgia State
Albert Wilson, Georgia State
Mike Fess, Holy Cross
Andrew Zitnik, Holy Cross
Tavoy Moore, Idaho State
Cameron Hunt, Illinois State
B.J. Lee, Jackson State
Alan Bonner, Jacksonville State
Greg Stripe, Lafayette
Steven Barker, Maine
Andre Nelson, Morgan State
Chris Flowers, Morgan State
Tyrone Hendrix, Morgan State
Torrian Warren, North Carolina A&T
Justin Ferrell, North Carolina A&T
Arthur Goforth, North Carolina Central
Dominique Hawkins, North Dakota
Carlos Anderson, Northern Iowa
Colby Goodwyn, Old Dominion
Travis Hurd, Rhode Island
Brandon Closner, Sam Houston State
Fabian Truss, Samford
T.J. Glover, South Alabama
Jeremy Blount, South Dakota
Kyle Harbridge, St. Francis (Pa.)
Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin
Brock Jackolski, Stony Brook
A.J. Williams, Tennessee-Martin
Chris Smith, Yale