Ricky Otis Named To CFPA Linebacker Award Watch List

Ricky Otis

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross senior linebacker Ricky Otis (Cleves, Ohio) has been selected to the 2011 College Football Performance Awards Watch List for the Football Championship Subdivision Linebacker Award. Otis was one of 41 players from teams around the nation named to the list.

Otis earned first team All-Patriot League honors in 2010, after playing in nine games and starting every time. Despite missing two games early in the year due to injury, he led the team with 108 total tackles, including 74 solo stops and two tackles for loss. Otis also registered a forced fumble, a pass breakup and two fumble recoveries this season. He led the Patriot League in tackles and ranked second in fumble recoveries, while reaching double-figures in tackles seven times. Over the course of his collegiate career, Otis has now totaled 135 tackles in 28 games played.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. For more information, visit www.collegefootballperformance.com.


2011 CFPA FCS Linebacker Award Watch List

 Justin Wray, Appalachian State
 Jer-ryan Harris, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
 Ryan Davis, Bethune-Cookman
 Ryan Lewis, Bethune-Cookman
 Jordan Ridley, Butler
 Ryan Consiglio, Chattanooga
 Andrae Jacobs, Coastal Carolina
 John Behm, Davidson
 Serge Kona, Duquesne
 Tyson Patrick, Eastern Kentucky
 Zach Johnson, Eastern Washington
 Kadarron Anderson, Furman
 Jake Muasau, Georgia State
 Cliff Exama, Grambling
 Ricky Otis, Holy Cross
 Keith Pough, Howard
 A.J. Storms, Idaho State
 Milton Patterson, Jackson State
 Rodney Garrott, Jacksonville State
 Pat Williams, James Madison
 Stephon Robertson, James Madison
 Mike Groome, Lehigh
 Tanner Rivas, Lehigh
 Jordan Tripp, Montana
 Allen Stephens, Morgan State
 Roger Stewart, North Carolina Central
 Corwin Hammond, Norfolk State
 Derek Rose, Northwestern State
 Craig Wilkins, Old Dominion
 Darius McMillan, Richmond
 Will Henry, Sam Houston State
 Justin Woodlief, Southeast Missouri State
 Anthony Balancier, Southern
 Devin Ducote, Stephen F. Austin
 Marcus Edwards, Tennessee Tech
 Shomari Clemson, Texas Southern
 Tyler Holmes, UMass
 Matt Evans, New Hampshire
 A.J. Gross, VMI
 Dante Cook, William & Mary
 Jordan Haynes, Yale