Vote Now On Holy Cross Football Ring Of Fame Candidates

WORCESTER, Mass. -- In the fall of 2011, the College of the Holy Cross will honor the second class of the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Fame. In 2010, Gill Fenerty (Class of 1986), Gordie Lockbaum (Class of 1988), Edmund Murphy (Class of 1943), Bill Osmanski (Class of 1939), Vince Promuto (Class of 1960) and John Provost (Class of 1975) were selected as the first-ever honorees.

Each year, a minimum of three players will be honored (one each from the eras of 1896-1949, 1950-1982 and 1983-present).  There will be an annual ceremony at Fitton Field and permanent recognition in the stadium.

"Holy Cross has a long and storied tradition in the sport of football," said athletic director Richard M. Regan, Jr. "We are pleased to continue this annual event to recognize the contributions of those who have played such a crucial role in our football history."

The players to be honored will be chosen by a special committee as well as fan voting.  The committee includes representatives from the Holy Cross Athletic Department, the Gridiron Club Leadership Council, the Holy Cross Varsity Club and the Holy Cross Development Office. Fan voting will account for a percentage of the final tally.

From April 13-May 15, fans will be able to vote from among the semifinalists selected by the committee from the three different eras: 1896-1949, 1950-1982 and 1983-present. Click on the links below to vote for the players from each era, or click on a player's name below to view biographical information on that individual.


1896-1949: Click Here to Vote! 1950-1982: Click Here to Vote! 1983-present: Click Here to Vote!
Ronald Cahill Jim Buonopane Tom Ciaccio
George L. Connor Henry Lemire Harry Flaherty
Charles Harvey Charlie Maloy
Bruce Kozerski
Hilary Mahaney Pat McCarthy Jerry McCabe
Martin Murray Jon Morris Rob McGovern
Albert "Hop" Riopel Johnny Turco David Murphy
Louis Sockalexis Joe Wilson Jeff Wiley


The 2010 Crusader Football Legends Ring of Fame Inductees

2010 Ring of Fame Inductees