Football Announces Team Awards For 2010 Season

Anthony DiMichele

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross football team has announced its team awards for the 2010 season. The awards were presented at the team's annual banquet, held on Saturday, February 5, in the Hogan Campus Center.

Leading the award winners was senior defensive back Anthony DiMichele (McKees Rocks, Pa.), who was named the 2010 Crusader Most Valuable Player. DiMichele ranked third on the team with 83 total tackles this year, including 72 solo stops and two tackles for loss. He also finished the season with five pass breakups and two fumble recoveries. A complete list of award recipients follows:

WTAG Offensive Player of the Year:
Bill Edger

WTAG Defensive Player of the Year:
Ricky Otis

WTAG Special Teams Player of the Year:
Perry Townsend

Davitt Awards
(Presented annually to the top back and lineman on both offense and defense. They were instituted by Jim Davitt (Class of 1913) of Holyoke, Mass., in memory of his brother, Rev. William Davitt Class of 1907), who played football and ran track while at Holy Cross, and was the last United States officer to lose his life in World War I.)
Offensive Back: Bill Edger & Freddie Santana
Offensive Lineman: Mike McCabe
Defensive Back: Alex Johnson
Defensive Lineman: Mude Ohimor

The Connor Award
(Presented annually to the Holy Cross senior who, by a vote of the varsity squad, is named the person the players are most proud of as a teammate. It is given by the Holy Cross club of the Pioneer Valley.):
Dakota Allosso

The Unsung Hero Award
(Presented annually to the player who has supported the squad spiritually, emotionally and physically for the good of the team.):
Rob Koster

The Rick Carter Memorial Award
(Presented to the senior whose sportsmanship and dedication to the game of football represent the highest ideals of athletics and who, through uncommon leadership, has positively influenced his teammates and brought great credit to his family, his team and the college.):
Anthony DiMichele

2010 Crusader Most Valuable Player
(Presented to the person who his teammates feel was the most significant part of the team.):
Anthony DiMichele