McCabe Named To FCS Athletic Directors Academic All-Star Team

Mike McCabe

WORCESTER, Mass. – Senior offensive tackle Mike McCabe (Watertown, Conn.), a member of the Holy Cross football team, has been selected to the 2010 Football Championship Subdivision Athletic Directors Association Academic All-Star team, as announced by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics. This marks the second straight year McCabe has been named to the squad. A total of 52 student-athletes from schools around the nation were selected to the team.

McCabe was named first team All-Patriot League and first team All-New England this season, after receiving second team All-Patriot League honors last year. He started all 11 games for the Crusaders at left tackle this season, as the leader of an offensive line which paved the way for Holy Cross to average 22.6 points and 323.1 yards of total offense per game. McCabe and the offensive line also allowed just 17 sacks this year, while the team attempted 418 passes (just one sack for every 25.6 times the team dropped back to pass). Over the course of his collegiate career, he has played in 36 games with 25 starts along the offensive line. McCabe is also a two-time ESPN / CoSIDA Academic All-District selection for his work in the classroom, and was named to the 2010 Academic All-Patriot League team. He carries a 3.70 cumulative grade point average with a major in classics.

The FCS Athletic Directors Academic All-Star team consists of players with a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study, who are also starters or key players with legitimate athletic credentials. A special review committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the Academic All-Star team.
The Crusaders finished the 2010 campaign with an overall record of 6-5, while placing second in the Patriot League with a 3-2 mark in conference games. Holy Cross posted a winning record for the sixth straight season.

For a complete list of the 2010 FCS Athletic Directors Academic All-Star team, click here.