Vote Now On Holy Cross Football Legends

WORCESTER, Mass. -- In the fall of 2010, the College of the Holy Cross will initiate a new annual program to honor the legends of Crusader football at Fitton Field.

Each year, a minimum of three players will be honored (one each from the eras of 1896-1949, 1950-1982 and 1983-present).  There will be an annual ceremony at Fitton Field and permanent recognition in the stadium.  Details will be released this summer.

"Holy Cross has a long and storied tradition in the sport of football," said athletic director Richard M. Regan, Jr. "We are pleased to begin this annual event to recognize the contributions of those who have played such a crucial role in our football history."

The players to be honored will be chosen by a special committee as well as fan voting.  The committee includes representatives from the Holy Cross Athletic Department, the Gridiron Club Leadership Council, the Holy Cross Varsity Club and the Holy Cross Development Office. Fan voting will account for a percentage of the final tally.

From May 3-May 31, fans will be able to vote from among the semifinalists selected by the committee from the three different eras: 1896-1949, 1950-1982 and 1983-present. Click on the links below to vote for the players from each era, or click on a player's name below to view biographical information on that individual.


1896-1949: Vote Here! 1950-1982: Vote Here! 1983-present: Vote Here!
George L. Connor Jim Buonopane Gill Fenerty
Charles Harvey Henry Lemire Harry Flaherty
Hilary Mahaney Pat McCarthy Bruce Kozerski
Edmund Murphy Jon Morris Gordie Lockbaum
Martin Murray Vince Promuto Jerry McCabe
Bill Osmanski John Provost Rob McGovern
Albert "Hop" Riopel Johnny Turco David Murphy
Louis Sockalexis Joe Wilson Jeff Wiley