Football Team Places 26 Players On Patriot League Academic Honor Roll

Chris Smith

WORCESTER, Mass. – Twenty-six members of the Holy Cross football team have been selected to the 2009 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the conference office. Leading the Crusaders was senior offensive lineman Chris Smith (Buffalo, N.Y.), who was named to the Academic Honor Roll for the fourth time during his collegiate career.

Five Crusaders are making their third career appearance on the Academic Honor Roll, in senior linebacker Andrew Cialino (Medford, N.J.), senior quarterback Joe Kosich (Southampton, Pa.), senior defensive lineman Nicholas MacDonald (Lackawanna, N.Y.), junior wide receiver Luke Chmielinski (Walpole, Mass.) and junior offensive lineman Mike McCabe (Watertown, Conn.). Holy Cross players named to the team for the second time in their careers include senior defensive back Dakota Allosso (Virginia Beach, Va.), senior linebacker Sean Lamkin (Jenks, Okla.), senior defensive back Quentin Liggins (Minneapolis, Minn.), junior defensive lineman Marcus Morgan (Aurora, Colo.) and sophomore defensive back Cav Koch (Austin, Texas).

The Crusaders had 15 other players selected to the Academic Honor Roll for the first time, in senior tight end Mike Argillander (Detroit, Mich.), senior tight end Paul Nielsen (Center Line, Mich.), senior offensive lineman Rob Petrosino (Bogota, N.J.), senior quarterback Dominic Randolph (Amelia, Ohio), senior offensive lineman Brandt Tierney (Sagamore Beach, Mass.), junior placekicker Rob Dornfried (Berlin, Conn.), junior defensive lineman Matt Ferrel (San Francisco, Calif.), junior linebacker Perry Townsend (Frankford, Del.), sophomore placekicker Llazar Cuko (Danvers, Mass.), sophomore defensive back Chandler Fenner (Virginia Beach, Va.), sophomore linebacker Ricky Otis (Cleves, Ohio), sophomore tight end Mike Wright (Quincy, Mass.), freshman running back Reed Apfelbaum (Upper St. Clair, Pa.), freshman defensive back Kevin Gallagher (Northfield, N.J.) and freshman tight end Josh Hauser (Dallas, Texas).

A total of 155 student-athletes from football teams around the league earned spots on this year's Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a grade point average of 3.20 or better during the fall semester.

The Crusaders, who won the 2009 Patriot League championship with an overall record of 9-3 and a 5-1 mark in conference games, are scheduled to open spring practice on Thursday, March 18.

For the complete Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in PDF format, click here.