Vote For Tom Gilmore For Coach Of The Year

Head Coach Tom Gilmore

WORCESTER, Mass. - College football fans across the nation now have the chance to help select the winner of the 2009 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. From now until Dec. 29, Holy Cross fans can vote for head coach Tom Gilmore at

Gilmore is one of five finalists from the football championship subdivision for the 2009 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, along with Jerry Moore of Appalachian State, Danny Rocco of Liberty, Bob Spoo of Eastern Illinois and John Stiegelmeier of South Dakota State. Winners will be announced January 6, 2010, in Los Angeles, in advance of the BCS championship game.

Liberty Mutual will award $50,000 to donate to the charity of the winner’s choice, along with a $20,000 grant to the winning school’s alumni association for student scholarships and activities. Until Dec. 29, fans can visit to vote among the finalists. Fan votes constitute 20 percent of a coach’s final score.

To ensure candidates are evaluated fairly and measured against the specific values of responsibility and integrity, selection committees of College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches – including Archie Manning, Lou Holtz, Vince Dooley, Ronnie Lott and Jerry Rice – and the national college football media will also cast votes for the winners. Hall of Fame and media votes account for 55 percent and 25 percent, respectively.