Holy Cross Basketball To Take Part In 2008 BracketBusters

Aug. 23, 2007

WORCESTER, Mass. - The College of the Holy Cross men's basketball team will take part in the sixth annual O'Reilly ESPNU BracketBusters event, as announced by ESPN. This year's field includes 100 teams, and will feature 14 nationally televised games on February 22-23. Among the participants are 17 schools which qualified for the 2007 NCAA Tournament.

This will mark the second straight season in which the Crusaders will take part in the BracketBusters, and the first time they will be a home team in the event. Last year, Holy Cross dropped a close 65-64 decision at Hofstra, in a game which was shown live on ESPNU.

The 100-team field will feature 12 teams from the Mid-American Conference and Colonial Athletic Association; 11 from the Ohio Valley Conference; 10 from the Missouri Valley Conference, Horizon League and Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference; nine from the Western Athletic Conference and Big West Conference; four from the America East Conference and Southern Conference; two from the Patriot League, Big Sky Conference and Big South Conference; and one each from the West Coast Conference, Summit League and Atlantic Sun Conference.

This year's coverage will be highlighted by six games shown live on ESPN2. Five other contests will air live on ESPNU, with one game being shown live on ESPN Classic. The two remaining televised games with be shown on ESPN360.com, ESPN's customized broadband service.

The 14 televised BracketBusters matchups will be announced on February 4, while game time and network assignments will be announced on February 11.

As part of the agreement, all 50 home teams in the BracketBusters will play a return game at the home facility of their opponent in November or December of the following season.

A complete list of schools taking part in the BracketBusters follows.

2008 O'Reilly ESPNU BracketBusters Participants

Home Teams: Akron, Appalachian State, Austin Peay, Boise State, Bradley, Buffalo, Butler, Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Northridge, California-Irvine, California-Riverside, Canisius, Cleveland State, Detroit, Drexel, East Tennessee State, Eastern Illinois, Eastern Kentucky, Eastern Michigan, Elon, Fresno State, Holy Cross, Illinois State, Iona, Jacksonville State, James Madison, Louisiana Tech, Loyola (Md.), Manhattan, Missouri State, Murray State, New Mexico State, North Carolina-Wilmington, Northern Arizona, Northern Illinois, Northern Iowa, Ohio, Old Dominion, Oral Roberts, Pacific, St. Mary's (Calif.), St. Peter's, Southern Illinois, Toledo, Towson, Utah State, Valparaiso, William & Mary, Winthrop, Wisconsin-Green Bay.

Road Teams: Albany, Ball State, Binghamton, Boston University, Bowling Green, Bucknell, Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo, California-Davis, California-Santa Barbara, Central Michigan, Creighton, Davidson, Delaware, Drake, Evansville, Fairfield, George Mason, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, Hawaii, High Point, Hofstra, Idaho, Illinois-Chicago, Indiana State, Kent State, Long Beach State, Loyola (Ill.), Marist, Miami (Ohio), Morehead State, Nevada, Niagara, Northeastern, Portland State, Rider, Samford, San Jose State, Siena, Southeast Missouri State, Tennessee-Martin, Tennessee State, Tennessee Tech, Vermont, Virginia Commonwealth, Western Michigan, Wichita State, Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Wright State, Youngstown State.