Holy Cross Basketball To Take Part In 2007 BracketBusters

Aug. 22, 2006

WORCESTER, Mass. - The College of the Holy Cross men's basketball team will take part in the fifth annual BracketBusters event, as announced by ESPN. This year's field includes 102 teams, and will feature 13 nationally televised games on February 16-17. Among the participants are 19 schools which qualified for the NCAA Tournament after participating in the event last season.

The field will feature 12 teams from the Mid-American Conference and Colonial Athletic; 11 from the Ohio Valley Conference; 10 from the Missouri Valley and Metro Atlantic Athletic; nine from the Western Athletic Conference and Horizon League; eight from the Big West; four the Big Sky and Southern; three from the Big South and Patriot; two from the America East, Mid-Continent and Southland; and one from the West Coast Conference.

For the second consecutive year, the event will feature five BracketBusters games exclusively on ESPNU, the 24-hour college sports network, and two on ESPN360, ESPN's customized broadband service. ESPN2 will televise six contests.

All of the BracketBusters home teams will play a return game at their opponents' home facility in November or December of the following season. The matchups for the BracketBusters event will be announced January 29.

2007 BracketBusters Participants

Home Teams: Akron, Boise State, Bucknell, Buffalo, Butler, Cal Poly, Cal State Northridge, Creighton, Coastal Carolina, Delaware, Drake, Eastern Michigan, Fairfield, Fresno State, George Mason, Georgia State, Hofstra, Idaho, Illinois-Chicago, Illinois State, Indiana State, Long Beach State, Loyola (Illinois), Marist, Missouri State, Montana, Morehead State, Nevada, New Mexico State, Niagara, Northeastern, Northern Arizona, Northern Illinois, Oral Roberts, Rider, Samford, San Francisco, Siena, Southeast Missouri State, Tennessee-Chattanooga, Tennessee-Martin, Tennessee State, Tennessee Tech, Toledo, UC Santa Barbara, UNC Greensboro, Virginia Commonwealth, Western Michigan, Wichita State, Wright State, Youngstown State.

Road Teams: Albany, Appalachian State, Austin Peay, Ball State, Bowling Green, Bradley, Cal State Fullerton, Canisius, Central Michigan, Cleveland State, Colgate, Detroit, Drexel, Eastern Illinois, Eastern Kentucky, Eastern Washington, Elon, Evansville, Hawaii, Holy Cross, Iona, Jacksonville State, James Madison, Kent State, Liberty, Louisiana Tech, Loyola (Maryland), Maine, Manhattan, Miami (Ohio), Murray State, Northern Iowa, Northwestern State, Ohio, Old Dominion, Pacific, Portland State, Saint Peter's, Sam Houston State, San Jose State, Southern Illinois, Towson, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UNC Wilmington, Utah State, Valparaiso, William & Mary, Winthrop, Wisconsin-Green Bay, Wisconsin-Milwaukee.