Doherty & Vander Baan Share Richard J. Maloney Award

May 2, 2009

WORCESTER, Mass. - Fifth-year senior guard Pat Doherty (Scranton, Pa.) and senior forward Alex Vander Baan (Uxbridge, Mass.), members of the Holy Cross men's basketball team, are the 2008-2009 recipients of the Richard J. Maloney Award. The award was presented at the 54th Annual Varsity Club Dinner, held at the Hogan Campus Center on Saturday, May 2.

The Maloney Award has been presented annually to the men's basketball team's most valuable player since 1981. This year marks only the fourth time that two players have shared the award. Rick Mashburn and Bill Walker both received the honor in 1993, John Hurley and Greg Kinsey were both recognized in 2005, and Keith Simmons and Torey Thomas shared the award in 2007.

One of the team's captains this season, Doherty handed out 67 assists in just 18 games played, while hitting 85.7 percent of his free throws. The 2005 Patriot League Rookie of the Year and a member of the 2008 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll, he finished his career ranked ninth all-time at Holy Cross with 315 assists and 129 steals. Doherty also totaled 571 points and 207 rebounds during his collegiate career.

Vander Baan also served as one of the team's captains this season, and started 87 games during his collegiate career. He totaled 713 points, 532 rebounds, 152 assists, 87 steals and 39 blocked shots in 111 career games played, and stands 41st all-time in Patriot League history in career rebounds. Vander Baan was named to the Patriot League All-Rookie Team in 2006 and the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in 2007.