R.J. Evans Named Patriot League Rookie Of The Year

March 2, 2009

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross freshman guard R.J. Evans (Salem, Conn.) has been named the 2008-2009 Patriot League Rookie of the Year in men's basketball, as voted by the conference's head coaches. Evans was also selected to the Patriot League All-Rookie team, while sophomore forward Andrew Keister (Galloway, N.J.) earned first team All-Patriot League honors.

Evans has averaged 12.7 points, 5.1 rebounds and 1.7 steals per game on the year for the Crusaders. He finished the regular season ranked fourth in the league in steals, eighth in scoring and 13th in rebounding. Evans led the team in scoring 10 times this year and scored in double-figures 21 times, including 18 double-digit scoring games in the final 23 contests of the season. He is on pace to become the first freshman to lead Holy Cross in scoring since Ryan Serravalle averaged 11.6 points per game in 1998-1999. In addition, Evans' 368 total points scored so far this season are the most by a Crusader freshman since Ronnie Perry scored 574 points in 1976-1977.

Andrew Keister
Keister has averaged 9.0 points and 6.5 rebounds per game this season, while making 59.6 percent (102 of 171) of his field goal attempts. He was even more impressive against Patriot League opponents, averaging 12.5 points and 8.8 rebounds in conference contests. On the season, Keister ranks first in the Patriot League in field goal percentage, third in rebounding and 23rd in scoring. He has also posted a team-best seven double-doubles on the season, while scoring in double-figures 12 times. Over the course of his Holy Cross career, Keister has now totaled 288 points and 229 rebounds, while hitting 117 of 219 (53.4 percent) field goal attempts.

Holy Cross (16-13 overall, 11-3 Patriot League) returns to action on Wednesday, March 4, when it plays host to Bucknell in a quarterfinal round game of the Patriot League Tournament. The contest between the Crusaders and the Bison is scheduled to tip-off at 7:00 p.m.

A complete list of the 2008-2009 All-Patriot League teams follows.


All-Patriot League First Team
Garrison Carr, American, Sr., G
Marquis Hall, Lehigh, Jr., G
Andrew Keister, Holy Cross, So., F
Kaleo Kina, Navy, Sr., G
Derek Mercer, American, Sr., G

All-Patriot League Second Team
Patrick Behan, Bucknell, Jr., F
Zahir Carrington, Lehigh, Jr., F
Brian Gilmore, American, Sr., F
Chris Harris, Navy, Jr., G
Cleveland Richard, Army, Jr., G

Patriot League All-Rookie Team
Bryan Cohen, Bucknell, Fr., G
R.J. Evans, Holy Cross, Fr., G
Yaw Gyawu, Colgate, Fr., F
Julian Simmons, Army, Fr., G
Ryan Willen, Lafayette, Fr., F

Patriot League Player of the Year: Derek Mercer, American, Sr., G
Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year: Marcus Nelson, Army, Jr., G
Patriot League Rookie of the Year: R.J. Evans, Holy Cross, Fr., G
Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Marquis Hall, Lehigh, Jr., G
Patriot League Coach of the Year: Jeff Jones, American