Men's Basketball Downs Lehigh 64-49 In Regular Season Finale

Feb. 28, 2009

Box Score

WORCESTER, Mass. - Freshman guard R.J. Evans (Salem, Conn.) recorded 15 points and seven rebounds to lead the Holy Cross men's basketball team to a 64-49 victory over Lehigh at the Hart Center. Junior forward Eric Meister (Boalsburg, Pa.) added eight points and a game-high 10 rebounds for the Crusaders. Holy Cross concludes the regular season at 16-13 overall and 11-3 in the Patriot League, while Lehigh falls to 15-13 on the season and 5-9 in the conference.

Both teams struggled to score early in the game, and the Mountain Hawks led 7-6 with 10:34 left in the first half. Holy Cross then went on an 11-0 run to take the lead for good, hitting three straight three-point field goals during that spurt. The Crusaders expanded their lead to 11 points late in the half, and took a 27-16 advantage into the locker room.

Lehigh was able to cut the lead to 10 points early in the second half, before Holy Cross went on a 7-1 run to make the score 35-19 with 15 minutes remaining. The Crusaders eventually extended their lead 20 points (50-30) with eight minutes left to play, before finally posting a 15-point victory.

Senior forward Colin Cunningham (Memphis, Tenn.) finished the game with nine points, five assists, three rebounds and three steals, while sophomore guard Andrew Beinert (Floral Park, N.Y.) added nine points, two rebounds and two assists. Lehigh was led by Rob Keefer with 13 points, and Zahir Carrington with 10 points and six rebounds.

Prior to the game, Holy Cross honored six senior members of the program for their hard work and dedication over the last four years: Cunningham, guard Lawrence Dixon (Columbia, Md.), guard Pat Doherty (Scranton, Pa.), center Greg McCarthy (Mansfield, Mass.), forward Alex Vander Baan (Uxbridge, Mass.) and student manager Jamie Reynolds (Worcester, Mass.).

The Crusaders return to action on Wednesday, March 4, when they play host to Bucknell in the quarterfinals of the Patriot League Tournament at 7:00 p.m.