Nick Ciardiello and John Pedrotty Earn All-Patriot League Honors

John Pedrotty

WORCESTER, Mass. Holy Cross senior outfielder Nick Ciardiello (Edison, N.J.) and junior pitcher John Pedrotty (Portsmouth, R.I.) have been named to the first team All-Patriot League as voted by the conference's head coaches. Three members of the 2011 Crusaders team were also named to the inaugural Academic All-Patriot League team, including Ciardiello, junior pitcher Nate Koneski (North Dighton, Mass.) and sophomore designated hitter Josh Olson (Woodbury, Minn.).

Ciardiello concluded his senior year by batting .345 with eight home runs and 43 RBI, with each mark in the top five in the Patriot League. Over the course of his collegiate career, he batted .315 with 42 doubles, 24 home runs and 130 runs batted in. Ciardiello broke the Holy Cross career record for home runs, while placing second in career runs batted in and third in career doubles. He earns first team honors for the first time.

Pedrotty led all Patriot Leaguers with seven wins (7-2) while pitching to a 4.62 ERA with 56 strikeouts in 60.1 innings for the season. Over his team-high 60-1/3 inning pitched, Pedrotty struck out 56 batters and held the opposition to a .269 batting average, in addition to throwing two complete games. He picks up first team accolades for the first time as well.

Ciardiello, along with Koneski and Olson were selected to the inaugural 12-person Academic All-Patriot League team, as voted on by league sports information directors. To be eligible for the Academic All-Patriot League team, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative grade point average and be a starter or key player in his/her sport. Olson boasts a team-high 3.91 GPA and is majoring in Chemistry. Ciardiello and Koneski follow with an identical 3.48 GPA and are majoring in Chemistry and Mathematics respectively.

The Crusaders completed the 2011 season with a record of 24-23-1, finishing above .500 for the first time since 1991. They came one win short of making their fourth consecutive berth into the Patriot League tournament, which starts this weekend.

Major Awards
Player of the Year:
A.J. Miller, Lafayette, Sr.
Pitcher of the Year: Ryan Ebner, Bucknell, Jr.
Rookie of the Year: Taylor Cato, Navy, Fr.
Coach of the Year: Paul Kostacopoulos, Navy

First-Team All-Patriot League
SP: Ryan Ebner, Bucknell (Jr.); John Pedrotty, Holy Cross (Jr.)
RP: Wes Olson, Navy (Sr.)
C: A.J. Miller, Lafayette (Sr.)
1B: Doug Shribman, Bucknell (Sr.)
2B: Zach Price, Army (Jr.)
SS: Clint Moore, Army (Sr.)
3B: Steve May, Army (Sr.)
OF: Ben Koenigsfeld, Army (Sr.); Drew Constable, Bucknell (Sr.); Nick Ciardiello, Holy Cross (Sr.); Rob Froio, Lafayette (Sr.)
DH: Dave Milanes, Navy (So.)

Second-Team All-Patriot League
SP: Sam Long, Navy (Sr.); Johnny Schoberl, Navy (So.)
RP: Alex Cillo, Bucknell (Jr.)
C: J.T. Watkins, Army (Jr.)
1B: Greg Dupell, Navy (So.)
2B: Nick Driscoll, Navy (Sr.)
SS: Brendan McGaheran, Lehigh (Sr.)
3B: Kevin Mihalik, Lehigh (Sr.)
OF: Bob Donato, Bucknell (Jr.); Billy Goldman, Lehigh (Sr.)
DH: Matt Lamore, Bucknell (Jr.)

Baseball Academic All-Patriot League Team
Ben Koenigsfeld, Army, Sr.
Steve May, Army, Sr.
Zach Price, Army, Jr.
Doug Shribman, Bucknell, Sr.
Drew Constable, Bucknell, Sr.
Nick Ciardiello, Holy Cross, Sr.
Josh Olson, Holy Cross, So.
Nate Koneski, Holy Cross, Jr.
Rob Froio, Lafayette, Sr.
Billy Goldman, Lehigh, Sr.
Cory Kent, Lehigh, Jr.
Greg DuPell, Navy, So.