2012 NCAA Men's Hockey Northeast Regional Field Announced

The DCU Center

NCAA Northeast Regional Central Website

WORCESTER, Mass. - The field of the 2012 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Northeast Regional at the DCU Center in Worcester, Mass., hosted by the College of the Holy Cross on Saturday and Sunday, March 24-25, has been announced. In the first game on Saturday, the No. 1 seed and Hockey East regular season and tournament champion Boston College (29-10-1) will meet the No. 4 seed and Atlantic Hockey regular season and tournament champion Air Force (21-10-7) at 4:00 p.m. Boston College bring a nation's best 15-game winning streak to the contest. The second game will feature the No. 2 seed and defending national champion Minnesota-Duluth (24-9-6) versus No. 3 seed Maine (23-13-3) at 7:30 p.m. The winners will advance to the regional championship game on Sunday at 8:00 p.m.

Tickets may be purchased at the DCU Center Box Office, all Ticketmaster locations, by phone at (800) 745-3000 and online at ticketmaster.com. Go here for more information.

Since the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Regional format was instituted in 1992, the DCU Center in Worcester has hosted the tournament 11 times – more than any other city. This year marks the 12th time that the City of Worcester has hosted a Regional.

Nine of the 11 teams to win the Regional in Worcester have gone on to play in the National Championship game.  Five of those teams won the National Championship. 

1993 – Maine (National Champion)

1995 – Boston University (National Champion)

1997 - Colorado College (lost in semifinals)

1999 – New Hampshire (lost in championship game)

2001 – Boston College (National Champion)

2002 – New Hampshire (lost in semifinals)

2003 – New Hampshire (lost in championship game)

2005 – North Dakota (lost in championship game)

2006 – Boston College (lost in championship game)

2008 – Boston College (National Champion)

2010 – Boston College (National Champion)